Missing in Action

After taking a sabbatical from blogging I am back. Life has become crazy and sleep has been limited. Starbucks aka Starbuckets has been visited multiple times per day to keep functioning. This post is a combination of what has happened over the past month and decisions I have made. I finally decided to pull the trigger and have a date for my first half Ironman (70.3 miles). May 17, 2015 in Chattanooga, TN there is lots to prepare for before the date. I am not much of a believer in new years resolutions. I actually started thinking why people even do them? Whats the point? Unless you truly plan on incorporating something into your life on a daily basis and plan on staying committed. I love the gym commercials this time of year and the slogans they come up with the attract people. I am all for change and people wanting to get in shape by all means. But, the reality is most people who sign up for a gym membership because of a new years resolution fizzle out by March. I know this firsthand because I use to work at a gym. Then everyone comes back before a spring break or spring trip then comes back to get into that beach body form. then again fall off the wagon. If everyone realized that the weight they are trying to take off did not appear there overnight, it is going to take more than 1 salad and workout to fix the problem. I asked my mom to be my triathlon sherpa when I race and she said to me at the gym she needs to get in shape for it because she’s inspired by my goal to race. But honestly my mom inspires me, at 58 she ran her first ½ marathon and wants to do another. She has come such a long way in the past year when she trained for the Detroit Turkey Trot 5k. Thursday morning my family raced together as our annual tradition. She dropped 15 minutes from her slowest 5k time. I aspire to be like my mom when I am her age. She is willing to try anything and help improve her fitness level. I will post my other update later as I am editing it. It has more of a direction than this post. This was more of an update on my missing presence.

Author: triingtoblanceitall

Trying to balance: work, friends, relationships, and triathlon one day at a time.

Leave a comment